ITUC // Trade Union Development Projects Directory

For trade unions, development cooperation is a part of our commitment to fight poverty, promote sustainable social development and improve working and living conditions for all.


enter your query below


The General Agricultural Workers’ Union (GAWU) of TUC was established through a merger of five smaller agricultural trade unions: Agricultural Divisions Workers Union (ADWU), Animal Health Workers Union (AHWU), Forestry Division Employees Union (FDEU) and the Produce Inspection Employees Union (FIEU). This took place at a merger conference at New Tafo in the Eastern region on 5th February 1959. Out of this merger conference was born Union of General Agricultural Workers (UGAW) which was later renamed General Agricultural Workers Union. GAWU now has a membership base of about 10,000 which has been increasing annually.

GAWU’s mission is to defend and further rights of workers, women and all fundamental human rights through consistent organization of the formal and informal agricultural sector workers.